Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Zombies!!!

This is gonna be short but I figured I would share! My friend rob suggested doing zombies so I gave it a shot. I used sally hansen insta dry of course! It was really simple! hope you guys like!!!What do you think?

requests are always welcome!

Lyss

Saturday, May 28, 2011

Crackle Glaze Review

A special thanks to my friend Charlotte for being my gopher on trying out the polish! Okay, I only used two of the Crackle Glazes by China Glaze and they seemed to work pretty good! The thing about these polishes is that you have to make sure your base coat is 100% dry otherwise it doesn't work near as well. So far it works best on the Sally Hansen Insta Dry. I used Broken Hearted(pink crackle) and Crushed Candy(blue crackle) and loved them. You have to put them on some what thin to get a good crackle otherwise it wont separate too much. Also if you put it infront of a fan it cracks faster and much more prominent than if you just air dry. Over all I was pleased with the Crackle Glaze.

Remember request are always welcome!!!

xoxo,
 Lyss

Friday, May 27, 2011

PIKACHU!

Pikachu nails! for those who don't know Pikchu is a pokemon that resembles a mouse and uses lightning and is super cute! Super easy design. I used Sally Hansen Insta Dry nail polish in the color Lightning. I LOVE the Insta Dry polish it looks good and has a sheen without a top coat if you're in a hurry. I'm not sure if I like the style of brush its really flat and wide. I've used the flatter brushes in the Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear but the Insta Dry are really flat. I will do a review later and show what the brushes look like! Anyway back to the Pikachu nails. I used Kiss Nail Art in Black for the eyes nose and mouth. The white on the eyes I used Sally Hansen Insta Dry in the color Whirlwind White and finally for the red cheeks I used Sinful Colors in the color Ruby Ruby. Super easy to do and really cute! I use toothpicks to do the design. Hope you like it!

Remember Request are always welcome!!!

xoxo,
 Lyss

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Changing the style of this blog

I am going to start doing a nail blog. I've gotten really into making my nails look awesome and have stopped biting them(I've been trying to stop for a VERY long time!!!) so I will do reviews of different polishes and post nail designs I do and want to try. Feel free to give me a request and I'll try to do it!!!

Here is the link to my Deviant Art profile. I have all my designs I have done so far on there!



xoxo,
Lyss!

Monday, May 9, 2011

my influences

There has been a lot that has influenced me. I cant say that just one thing has but probably books are what have done the most for me. Books are my escape from stress and allow me to relax and enjoy life. I've read a lot of books that help boost self esteem and I feel like those have made me become a better and stronger person. I appreciate the little things a lot more rather than I used to. Even in fiction books I learn from the characters and find strength in them. The one book that I can say has influenced me the most, is the bible. I read it as much as I can, I have an actual bible and then I have it also on my kindle. I can honestly say that after I read the bible, it makes me feel good and happy.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Phobias!

So I'm with my friend Audrianna and she is doing a power point presentation on phobias. I love psychology and considering it is my major it makes sense. So I decided to do a blog about interesting phobias! By no means am I making fun of people who actually have these phobias, I find these interesting and if you have one that I list I'm sorry if I offend you.

The first phobia is called Walloonphobia- Fear of the Walloons. Okay so i saw this and laughed so hard. WHAT IS A WALLOON!? A Walloon is apparently a person who lives in Wallonia in Belgium. I honestly would like to know who actually has these phobias!
The second phobia is Psellismophobia- Fear of stuttering. This one is pretty self explanatory.
The next phobia is Automatonophobia- Fear of ventriloquist's dummies, animatronic creatures, wax statues - anything that falsly represents a sentient being. This one I kinda have, I wouldn't say that I'm terrified of ventriloquist dummies and was statues or whatever but the do give me the heebie jeebies! Here is the last one I'll list, Chirophobia- Fear of hands, I find this one odd for the fact that everyone has hands with a few exceptions.

If you would like to see a whole list of phobias here is the a good site for the list http://phobialist.com/

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

FaeRiina

So my favorite books are books about Faeries. Ever since I read Shakespeare's A Midsummer Nights Dream I have had a fascination with Fae. I first read it when I was a sophomore in High School, and have read it several times since. Most books that have to do with Fae now follow Shakespeare's idea of Faeries. Of course each author adds their own touches and I love to see what people think and seeing the creativity that comes from them.

The next Faerie book I read was Tithe. Tithe is about a girl who is a changeling which basically means when a human had a baby Fae would switch and take the human baby to a faerie realm and put a fae baby into the mortal realm. and she is a Fae and doesn't find out until she is a teen. There are two more books in the Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale series. Its a darker series about Fae. One thing a lot of people do not realize is most Fae are cruel creatures and are not typically nice to mortals, they are seen as their play things and entertainment.

After I read Tithe I wanted to read more and now I'm in the middle of the Faeriewalker Series, the Frost Series, and the Iron Fae series. I know Fae are completely fictional but all those comics people get into and vampires all that is fictional too! How people are all crazed about Twilight, I am about Faerie books. I read other books than just books about Fae but the ones that have to do with the beautiful yet cruel creatures amaze and interest me like no other!

If anyone would like to know all my books about Fae I have read just comment and I'll do another blog about my favorite Fae books. I might do it anyway but just let me know! Also if you have any suggestions as to books you think I would like let me know! I'm always looking for another good read!

P.S. The title is one of my names I go by such as on xbox live. :)
Lyss

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Playoffs!

It's time for NHL playoffs!!! I love Hockey! It's my all time favorite sport! Sadly my all time favorite team did not make it to the playoffs this year :( but I do have two teams I'm cheering on to win the Stanley Cupp! I'm mainly wanting the Washington Capitals to win and the Tampa Bay Lightning. I'm leaning a little more towards the Capitals due to the fact that Alexander Ovechkin plays much too hard to not have ever one a single cup! He's an incredible player, he's made goals that look completely impossible.

Washington has won their first two games so far and Tampa won their second game but lost the first. I can't wait to see how these playoffs turn out! The teams I definitely don't want to see win are Vancouver, New York, and Boston. Well to be honest I don't want to see any in the West devision to win because if anyone from the west should win it should be the Blues:)

Anyone else hockey fans???

LETS GO CAPS!!!

Lyss

Monday, April 11, 2011

So much to do!

I have had a lot going on lately and haven't been able to keep up with everything! I'm behind with school and stuff at home. I know a lot of my being behind is partly me procrastinating but the flu bug has been making it's way around my house and it just is dragging me down. Over this past weekend I had to make a run to the Urgicare center because I dropped a huge shelf on my foot and thought I broke it!

Luckily it isn't broke its just really badly bruised. But just everything is piling up and no matter how hard I try to work on stuff and finish things I'm not doing it fast enough. Right now I have the research project for English to work on and a philosophy homework assignment that is a lot to do. I also have an online class and an earth science class. I haven't been in class either due to being sick or some other problem.

Sorry for all my rambling about all I have to do! and for you guys in my group, sorry I've been absent! I promise I'll pull my weight!

Lyss

Thursday, March 24, 2011

My Top Five: Xbox 360 Games

I decided to to games because well I love to play video games and more so on my 360, so here we go!

1. Assassin's Creed Series(1,2, and Brotherhood) I had to choose all three because I don't know which I like more! In Brotherhood they introduce an online multiplayer and it's amazing!It's an RPG and takes quite a while to finish but it's well worth it :)

2. Halo:Reach, on this one I was tied between Reach and Modern Warfare 2, but the campaign on Reach was awesome! If you've never played a Halo game Reach is the one to start out with even though it came out last, it actually would be the first in the series of games. I love all the Halo games but this has to be my favorite!

3. TATICLE NUKE INCOMING! Thats Right Modern Warfare 2, I love the online game play it's fast and stealthy (except for the noob tubers..)It's a first person shooter for those who have not played. The graphics are AWESOME and just an all around well designed game! Way to go Activision and Infinity Ward:)

4. Dragon Age: Origins, I'm currently playing this game but it has already made it to my top five! This game is an RPG and is taking FOREVER to finish! It's okay though the story line is really well thought out and it's a lot of fun to play:) If you're into magic and warriors and defeating the darkspawn(demons) this is the game for you!

5. And lastly, to be honest I play this game way too much and it's really a little kids game but VIVA PINATA! There are other games that are better made and for sure have some meaning behind it but when I'm bored and don't feel like having to think too much about the game. Its fun and light hearted you attract pinatas by the plants you grow and they come to live in your garden:) I love it, it's so cute and fun to watch.

xoxo,
LYSS!

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Who doesn't love to be Quoted!

We write to discover what we think- Joan Didion, Page 112 (not sure if it's actually 112 in the book but on my kindle thats where it say's it is)
I chose this quote because on a daily basis I write down random things to get it out of my mind and then I can think about it a little more in a different way. Even if it's just making a list of things to do I feel like I get a little less stressed to have it out of my mind and I can actually think about it. I've also noticed with blogging that when I'm typing I'm able to get out a lot more and not so much think about what  I'm saying and just let it come out. Once I'm done I come to read it over again and realize things that I never really thought about and how strongly i feel about certain things.
I don't necessarily write to discover what I think but I know when I write sometimes I learn more and more about myself. It's really neat to realize that you've learned something about yourself, its weird to think that you might not know everything about yourself but it's surprising to realize those things you never knew. It can be both good and bad but mostly I've learned great things about myself. For one I learned that I'm not a half bad writer, and that writing is actually fun, and it's a good stress release.

XoXo,Lyss

Monday, February 21, 2011

Gamer Girl

Why is it that when you're a gamer(video, online role play, or in person role play) you're automaticly assumed to be a nerd? If you're a guy its perfectly fine to be a gamer unless its something like dungeons and dragons, but if you're a girl you're considered a nerd?

I am a gamer, I love my xbox 360 and I RP(role play) on a site called the Forgotten Realms. On my xbox I mainly play Halo: Reach, Assassin's Creed (1,2, and Brotherhood), and Modern Warfare 2 (don't have black ops! too much like World at War for me!!!) . On the RP site I have three characters, a Human, Feyborn, and a Drow. If you have ever played D&D than you know what I'm talking about :) I have the site linked on my blog at the top right so if you want to check it out feel free to, oh and if you're into that type of stuff PLEASE JOIN!!! Anyway, on the site you do whats called interactive role playing, its like writting a book with one or more people! It helps develop you're writting skills and its a lot of fun! There are a couple other girls on the site that are active memebers, but not near as many girls as there is guys of course.

As soon as I tell people that I game (people I know in real life) they look at me like there could be no way considering I'm not the normal stereo type of girl to game in the sorts of games I play. Now for the people that I know from online gaming, when I'm on xbox I have my mic on so I can correspond with my teamates so I usually get asked if i'm a 10 year old boy or a girl. If I say I'm a girl then most of the time I get questions like "are you hot?" and I respond with "yes, I'm 450lbs of meaty love" and that turns them away, but thats what gives girl gamers a nerdy rep, because the dumb guys who are on there being rude and nasty! Now dont get me wrong there are some guys out there online who are nice and not nasty.

Here is the link to how most guys are on xbox live. Pre warning there is bad language in this video. This is what pretty much any girl gamer wants to do when you run into a guy like this!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQnIJ-ljctk

Tell me what you think about Girl Gamers!!

XoXo,

alyssa name - who Pictures, Images and Photos

Monday, February 14, 2011

I am from...

I am from Buzz and Iralonna
I am from Texas, Arkansas, and Illinois
I am from passion and love
I am from playing with Barbies and playing Hockey
I am from music and dancing like your Michael Jackson
I am from rough times who made me stronger
I am from a loving and crazy family
I am from the rivers that I wakeboard and ski on
I am from the ultimate creator, a higher being whoever you believe, but to me it's God.

Monday, January 31, 2011

Dedicated Avenged Sevenfold Fan

Meet my Avenged Sevenfold Family. From left to right my boyfriend Jake, Me, Lena, Joe, and my brother Marc. All the rest of the people around us are part of that family too.

Yesterday I went to Evansville, Indiana for the Avenged Sevenfold concert which if you don't know who they are then learn who they are! They are extremely talented, I know metal isn't a lot of peoples favorite music but it sure is mine. If you know anything about Avenged you probably know that their drummer died a year and a couple months ago. It was a horrible lost, they were in the middle of recording an album and they still have no cause of death. He was an amazing musician he was playing stuff that Lars Ulrich(Metallica's Drummer) was playing at a young age, which is not easy. It was a really rough year on the band and the A7X family a.k.a their fans. Last night they played with New Medicine, Hollywood Undead, and Stone Sour. Stone Sour is one of my other favorite bands. The guitarist Jim Root and the lead singer Corey Taylor are also in the band Slipknot.

The best way I can describe the concert last night after Avenged went on was euphoric, it was like a dream come true. It was my second time seeing them in concert and each time it just gets better and better. To know how I feel think of the band or person you want to see most in life and hearing them play the song that you never thought they would. It just made my life. A7X is a band that is in it for the music and their fans. I would happily do that drive again and more just to be able to see them preform again. As the semester moves on I will probably write a lot more about them. Last night was an adventure and a great one at that. If you are a fan here is there set list for the Nightmare After Christmas Tour : Nightmare, Critical Acclaim, Welcome to the Family, Danger line, Buried Alive, So Far Away, Afterlife, God Hates Us, Bat Country, Unholy Confessions, and for their encore songs Fiction and A Little Piece of Heaven. During Unholy Confessions they played a little bit of Crossroads to get a circle pit going. Alright thats what I got for you all now. Time to link some youtube videos so you see what I saw last night! And if you're scared of metal head you might not want to watch!:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIStCRrtToM&feature=artist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNZwMG_QUGs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VurhzANQ_B0

XoXo,

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Pixie the Kitty!

So today I just picked up my little 4 month old baby with fur from the Humane Society of Missouri. I took her in  yesterday morning at 7am to be De-Clawed and Spayed. The service there is really awesome! You can tell that they care for the animals deeply. Me, being the nervous as I was about dropping off my little baby and letting them cut into her was very hard but they definitely were reassuring. They called as soon as she was out of surgery to let me know she did great and that she was resting.
Its amazing that something that isn't even the same species as you has such a deep impact on your life. I consider Pixie my child and going a full 24 hours without your baby is quite traumatizing let me tell you! She is finally home  and doing well. She didn't even have to have her paws bandaged because she is doing so well! I am very impressed with the people at the Humane Society, they did an excellent job and gave me good instructions. On the 4th she goes back for them to remove the stitches on her tummy. But for the next few days it's nap time to little miss Pixie Stick.

zzzZZZzzzZZZzzz
XoXo,
alyssa Pictures, Images and Photos

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Introduction:)

Hello!
Well first off I'm 18 years old and I'm going into Psychology to become a high school counselor. I work at a restaurant and gift shop called Rachel's Garden. I love to read! reading is one of my favorite things to do. Metal is my preferred genre of music but I do like at least a little of everything! I am a very active person I dance, wake board, and water ski. I love video games, some of my favorite games include the Assassin's Creed games, Modern Warfare 2, Halo and many others. I currently in a serious relationship with my boyfriend Jacob of a year and a half. I have a four month old tortoiseshell kitten named Pixie. She is a very spunky kitten. I also have two dogs, a golden retriever and black lab mix named Daisy and a papillon named Duke. I am an overall bubbly person, I am typically a happy person and love to smile. I cant really think of anything else! I'm super excited for this semester!

Duke

Pixie
XOXO,
my name. =]